June 05: Growing Up (Part 2)

Go back to…
part 1

The Play

Four kids of Lucy‘s class 3 were to leave for high school after summer. Zoe, Chantal, Ryan and Joshua. Because they were leaving, they had rehearsed a play which they were going to perform for their families and the younger kids of The Beehive.

A stage had been set up and the audience was gathered.

Screenshot-90Lucy opened:

Screenshot-84

“Welcome parents, brothers, sisters, boys and girls to our play: The Chest. A play about a brother and sister called Leon and Lisa. Leon and Lisa are two ordinary city kids spending a summer day playing hide and seek with some friends. But when they run into an alley, they find something unexpected…”

Screenshot-96

“Leon… Look… A chest…”
“Yeah… That’s weird, what is it doing here?”
“I don’t know, but let’s get in, it’s a good hidingplace!”
….
“Look Lisa, there’s buttons inside! I’m going to press one!”
“Don’t! …”
“Too la… – woahhh, what’s happening!”
—Music plays—

Screenshot-102

“Leon! Where are we?!”
“It looks like… The Old West…”
“It can’t be! You mean… We travelled through time? In THAT?!”
“It would appear so…”
-“What are you folks doing here?”

Screenshot-106

“Umm…. Hello, I’m Leon and this my sister Lisa, we seem to umm… have lost our way…”
“Hello there Leon, I’m Bill and this is my sister Clara. Where are you from? You look strange!”
“Yeah… umm… it seems we have come from… umm.. the future, I guess…”
“THE FUTURE!?”
“Bill…We don’t have time for all this! We’reΒ going to get in trouble if we don’t get all the hay scattered before sundown! And we’ve already lost too much time!”
“We can help!”

Screenshot-107

“So, how did you get here from the future?”
“My brother and I were playing and we stumbled upon that chest over there! we got in and pressed a button and then everything started spinning. When it stopped, we were here!”
“That’s impossible! We’ll have to see that to believe it, don’t we Clara?”
“Yes, we do! Time travel is not possible!”
“Come on Lisa, let’s show them.”

Screenshot-108

“So this is the chest”
“And all you do is get in and press a button?”
“Yes!”

Screenshot-110

“Bye bye, travel safe!”
— Music plays —

Screenshot-111

“Where are we now Lisa…? Do you know?”
“It all looks very industrial…”

Screenshot-113“I read about this! This must be Victorian times! We landed in the middle of the Industrial Revolution!”
“Wow Lisa, you’re so smart!”
“Look Leon, two kids!”

Screenshot-114

“Hi!”
“Good afternoon. Wow, you sure are dressed in peculiar attire, don’t you agree Thomas?”
“That’s because we traveled here from the future! I’m Lisa and this is my brother Leon!”
“From the FUTURE?! That’s simply impossible! Isn’t it Thomas?”
“I don’t know Matilda, strange things do happen. But we don’t have time for all this, we have to fix the steam machine”
“Oh, I can help with that! I’ve read all about it in my books! Just take that pin and put it there and it should work!”

Industrial

“Wow! It worked! Did you see that, Matilda?”
“That’s incredible! Maybe you are telling the truth about this timetravel…”
“Yes! We came here in that chest!”
“Wow, can you show us?”
“Sure”

Screenshot-121

“Can we try to get back home now Leon? I want to go home…”
“We can try…”
—Music plays—

Screenshot-122
“This is not home…”
“No… it seems we’ve gone a bit too far ahead in time…”
“I’m scared Leon, let’s try to go back!”
“Okay!”

“Umm… Lise… It’s not working anymore…
Screenshot-126

“Oh no! What are we going to do now!”

Screenshot-123

“Hello strangers, what seems to be the problem?”
“Oh… umm… hello… I’m Leon, this is Lisa, we umm… have come from the past, but our chest broke…”
“Your chest? You do your time traveling in a chest? Wow! I’m Romi, this is my brother Rogue by the way”

Screenshot-128

“Hey Leon, wanna know a secret…? We have different ways of time traveling here!”
“Really? You can get us back to our time?!”
“Sure, just walk through the portal!”

Screenshot-133—Music plays—

Screenshot-134
Leon! We’re back!”
Screenshot-136“We’re BACK!”

Screenshot-137

“Ladies and gentlemen! You’ve been watching Zoe as Clara, Matilda and Romi, Ryan as Bill, Thomas and Rogue and Joshua and Chantal as Leon and Lisa!”

Aww, well done kids!
The parents were very proud too!

well done

And Nick was proud of his mum!

Screenshot-160After their big performance, the stars deserved a nice piece of cake!Screenshot-140But before they had their cake, they needed to change out of their costumes (and look, they suddenly seem a bit older… πŸ˜‰ )

new teens

Cake!

Screenshot-145

You did it guys, you’re no longer kids! Hope you have great teenage years!

Screenshot-158

There’s even more in…
part 3

***Note: I’ve been wanting to do an “end of primary school” play for a long time. In The Netherlands, where I live, it’s tradition for primary school children in their last year to perform a musical for their families upon leaving primary school.
I don’t really like how much older sim kids suddenly look when they turn into teens. I try to make them looking as much as 12 year olds as I can, but Ryan, like his sister Holly before him, immediately looked like he was 17. Chantal also looks more mature, but this is partly by choice, as I figured Chantal is the kind of girl who’d wear make up etc at a young age.***

12 thoughts on “June 05: Growing Up (Part 2)

  1. A PLAY!!!!!!!! OMG what a GENIUS idea!
    *grabs popcorn*
    Oh, so lovely that they travel through time! Hahahaha, I love that in the end, they have a fancy portal πŸ˜€
    Aaaaw, so sweet!!! They all did very well indeed ❀ ❀ ❀ And now: CAKE TIME!! AAAAAAAAAHHHH they are all so cute!! I can't wait to see what they get up in their new lives as teenager!

    Like

    • The play is loosely based on a mini-musical I wrote for and then performed with my class of 4-6 year olds a few years back. It was called “Op Reis in de Kist” which translates to “Travel in the Chest” about a brother and sister who find a chest in the attic with buttons inside. When they press a button, the chest transports them to another country. Eventually they return home and think it was all a dream. Until they find a pizzabox (which they received from a man in Italy) in the chest…
      I wanted to re-enact this with this class, but when looking for backdrops, I changed it to travel through time, because the backdrops which came with showtime were much more suited for that.
      Yay for new teens! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Ethan’s birthday party was really sweet πŸ™‚
    Having a study group, very neat idea.
    lol at the girl who interrupted them πŸ˜€
    I don’t remembr seeing the seesaw trick before, very cool.
    School play! That was very cute. How did you get everybody to sit so long in place? Because sims and their attention span…

    Like

    • Oh dear, they didn’t sit down for very long at all! I quickly snapped a few pictures in the brief moment they were all seated and then let the audience do as they pleased while the kids did they play. I didn’t even look at them anymore. At least that way I could still pretend they stayed seated, haha.
      When I did the graduation (in part 3), they were even WORSE. I couldn’t even get one sim-minutes of everyone seated together. So, eventually I just gave up on that idea. πŸ˜‰
      I never knew about the seesaw trick either until I saw Nathan do it in Sandy’s game. My sim was doing it in someone else’s game! I was flabbergasted, haha. Apparently it comes with his daredevil trait.
      Thanks for your comment Ani!

      Like

    • Ending primary school years with a play (or, actually, a musical) is an old tradition here in The Netherlands. Having always been a very theatrical child I remember looking forward to this moment all through primary school. Then, in my final year, my class didn’t get to do one, because some obnoxious girls in my class ruined it for all of us. My childhood trauma. πŸ˜‰ My simmies doing one is sort of like my therapy haha!

      Like

      • Oh wow the Netherlands sounds like a fun place to go to primary school! The only play I ever did in primary school resulted in me puking all over everyone… the school was angry because I had missed a few days for being sick and they thought I was faking. After the incident they told me to come back when I was feeling better :p

        Like

  3. Awwwww, a play!!!! That’s too cute! ❀ ❀ ❀
    They all did so well! *standing ovation* Maybe there's some future actors there? πŸ˜‰
    That's really impressive! Awww!!! Their parents must have been dying of pride there!!!

    NEW TEEEEEEEEEEENS! ❀ ❀ ❀ Awww, they all look fabulous!! Hey, being a teen will be a heavy weight to replace all the smashing teens you "lost" this year! I can't wait to see what these ones will get into!!! *popcorn*

    Like

    • Chantal was actually my greatest little actress! She surprised me! In reality I just had them approach each other and have chats all the time, but Chantal constantly made all the right faces and hand motions. I finally found something Chantal is good at! Zoe, on the other hand, constantly stared into the audience and giggled. Which wasn’t very good acting, but which is very much what happens in real life kids’ plays as well. I love when the game knows things. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Haha I loved their play! It kind of reminds me of a Shivers book that I read as a child only without the scariness πŸ™‚ And wow, they grew up well!

    Cake!!

    I really like that you’ve added some tradition into the game πŸ™‚ The play is such a great touch!

    Like

    • Making the play work was sorta difficult, but my simmies turned out to be great actors doing exactly what I wanted them to do. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. What a lovely idea! My second primary school put on a play when I was moving up to senior school, it was a lot of fun! And this looks like it was fun to play out, too! What talented actors you have! ❀
    And your new teens look very adorable! ❀
    On to Part 3!

    Like

What do you wish to say?

